jump to navigation

Mindless Knitting August 27, 2007

Posted by hollyspinner in Knitting.
trackback

I learned two things this weekend. 

1. Knitting fancy cabled afghan blocks is way harder than I first thought.

2. Using a multicolor, marled yarn for a fancy, cabled afghan block is a bad idea.

I wanted to make a block out of The Great American Aran Afghan for some secret knitting.  I spun up this really pretty fire colored yarn,  but didn’t have enough yardage so I plied it with white to make this nice marled yarn.  Then proceeded to learn the above lesson.  Needless to say, I frogged the whole thing ten rows in.  I am in the process of finding a nice plain yarn and some help reading charts.  I really liked this yarn so I cast on 30 stiches and started knitted this nice broken rib.  I love projects like this because you never know what is going to happen next, since it is a randomly spun yarn, and stripes beatifully.

 

When I marl any fire color yarn with white, it reminds me of Fruit Stripes Gum

 

 

 

 

 

I like the back as much as I like the front

Comments»

1. soozypoozy - August 27, 2007

I love the colours of your yarn – it looks fab!


Leave a Reply

