jump to navigation

Color, Naturally September 27, 2007

Posted by hollyspinner in book review, dye.
trackback

I’ve been really negligent on fiber posting.  So here is a project I’m just starting:

I’ve been wanting to try to natural dying for a while.  So now I have all the ingredients: dye (I’m using Earthues logwood extract), mordant (alum),  wool yarn, and most importantly, time.  I’ve done quite a bit with synthetic dyes, but this seems to be a whole differernt kettle of fish.  I’m using The Dyer’s Companion by Dagmar Klos for instruction.  Her directions seem clear.   The method she describes is more scientific than the method I use, but that is good in case I want to repeat (or at least try).  Ok, big breath, here I go, off to find color, naturally.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

