jump to navigation

Post October 23, 2007

Posted by hollyspinner in Knitting.
trackback

Look what came in the mail!

100_2641

 I know that Christmas is really right around the corner when the catalogs start landing on my doorstep. Which, of course, makes me think of Christmas knitting. I don’t really do Christmas knitting as most of the people that I buy for are knitters and would much rather have the yarn than the knitted project or people who just don’t understand the point of knitting and therefore will not appreciate a hand knit item anyway. But, for some reason this year Christmas sock knitting has found me.  I have a pair of socks that I want to knit for my husband – I wanted to knit him socks for his birthday in September, but I only got one done and it fit ME- I have yet to get the yarn for this but I know the yarn I want

100_2644

Then I also need to do a pair of socks for the Promise Tree fundraiser for the daughter’s school by Christmas.  I don’t have the yarn for this either.  I talked to the woman for whom I am making the socks and she said she wanted something wild.  I will definitely have to check The Loopy Ewe or Kpixie to find something unique. 

The last sock that I have to knit by Christmas, well December 31, is the contest sock that I now have the yarn for, Yea!  Of course when the mail showed up I immediately tore open the package took a few pics and started balling up the yarn.

100_2643

I haven’t cast on yet, but I have the pattern designed.  I am going to have to do some more swatching.   I thought I would be smart and get all the swatching done before the yarn showed up, but I did all my swatches in Sweet Feet (a slightly thicker yarn), and this is the Superfine Superwash (a slightly thinner yarn), so now I have to figure out how the pattern will work with this beautiful yarn, it’s really not a hardship.

Comments»

1. Progress « Hollyspinner’s Weblog - December 4, 2007

[…] Then I can measure against the actual foot as I knit so we don’t wind up with another birthday sock.  Speaking of holiday knitting I listened to the latest Sticks and String podcast, Proportion […]


Leave a Reply

