jump to navigation

I must own this book November 15, 2007

Posted by hollyspinner in book review.
trackback

I have gotten Mason Dixon Knitting by Kay Gardiner and Ann Shaye out of the library a couple of times.  I enjoy the pictures and they have several patterns that really call to me (let me just add them to the list).  The reason why I checked it out this time was because I am thinking about rugs and I knew they had a pattern or two.  Confession time:  I rarely read knitting books, I really like to look at the pretty pictures, maybe study a pattern or technique, but actually sit down and read, no, not really.  So I had the library’s copy of this book in my bathroom (don’t ask why), and  I was doing what one does in the bathroom so I thought I would pick up a book to peruse.  I came to page 48 and there found three short paragraphs titled Mason-Dixon After Dark.  Honestly, I just about fell off the toilet I was laughing so hard.  I won’t give away the whole story but it involves the wives of Jacob, spinning flax and dying it a tarty color, and superfoxes of the Holy Land.  Well, that absolutely cinched it for me: great pictures, fabulous patterns (really I want to knit every single one) and hilarious prose, what more could one ask for in a book?  So if you want to know the answer to these pressing questions: Why use three strands of Peaches and Creame Cotton?, How to cope with knitting disaster?, and How do you make a log cabin out of yarn?  buy (yes buy) this book.  It is definitely going on my Amazon wish list and maybe, just maybe it will be in my stocking come next month.

Oh yea, they have a blog too:  Mason-Dixon Knitting – fabulous!

Comments»

1. Your Darling SIL - December 4, 2007

Your friendly, neighborhood librarian would like to point out that the bathroom is NOT (!!!!!!!) the recommended place to read her library books. That’s right HERS!!!! You pesky patrons…um…sorry, I digress. Great book, isn’t it? 🙂


Leave a Reply

