jump to navigation

What a Weekend November 26, 2007

Posted by hollyspinner in holiday, Life, Spinning.
trackback

Thanksgiving was…ok.  There were too many people in too little space.  The food was good, though.  I  had to make a double batch of deviled eggs due to the number of people.  There was a very interesting sweet potato dish with mashed sweet potato’s under a crust of apples and walnuts.  And cousin Sue made my all time mostest favorite pie: sweet potato and pecan mmmmmmm.

Then came Friday. Saturday was the big holiday sale and I had one day to finish off everything that needed finishing label and pack into the vehicle. Here is my proposed schedule (in regular words) and what really happened (in italics).

6:30 wake up (this actually happened, luring me into a false sense of  this day will work out ok)

7:00-8:00 Quickly run down to Kohls to by the husband Converse Chuck Taylors to replace the ones that died some time ago (Ran down to Kohls, didn’t find any, no not a single Chuck Taylor, laughed at the people in line that went all the way around the store.  I don’t know that I have ever needed anything so badly that I wanted to stand in a line that long.  Went home, called 3 other Kohls stores, nary a Chuck Taylor to be found except for one display model, in the wrong size.)

9:00-1:00 Re-skein yarn (this actually happened)

1:00-3:00 Finish off the shawl pins by making the backs out of polymer clay and maybe make some stitch markers (this also actually happened, although there were many exhortations of “I really need a craft room”)

stitch markers


100_2743

3:00 – 10:00, or whenever I finished – Labeling yarn, stitch markers, ornaments, spindles and mini stockings. (and here is where it all went horribly, horribly wrong.  I made up my first 5 labels for yarn and pushed the print button.  One neat and tidy page of labels turned into two pages of mess.  I tried printing another file.  Then I called the husband, he said he would look at it when he got home.  He got home late, worked on it for an hour or so and deduced it was unfixable.  We ran down to Best Buy and bought another printed [this is the silver lining: if it hadn’t been Thanksgiving weekend we would have not gotten such a good deal on a printer].  It is now 8:00pm.  I  work for two hours on labeling then collapsed into bed only to get up 3 hours later to finish the labeling before going to the sale at 7:00am) 

The sale was good.  It is at the Matthaei Botanical Gardens, which are utterly photoworthy.  I wanted to get some eye-candy photos but the only thing I can really do properly on 3 hours of sleep and half a bag of chocolate covered espresso beans is sit, stare off into nothing and spin, which is what I did. 

Sunday (the day of rest, or so I thought) I woke up with a gasp and the thought: today is the Sunday after Thanksgiving, we need to put up the Christmas Tree, ooohhhhnnnn there is no way the tree is going up today.  In my mad dash (for the last couple of weeks) to finish what I wanted to finish for the sale I have rather neglected some of the housework, that is to say in the place where we usually put the tree there is a large pile of stuff consisting of  old homework papers, yarn, junk mail, labels and who knows what else.  So I spent Sunday cleaning.  I’m going to spend a good amount of time today cleaning.  I will probably spend some time every day this week cleaning. In the hopes that next Sunday we can put up the Christmas Tree.

Comments»

1. Carole - November 29, 2007

The nice thing about Thanksgiving being so early this year is that we get a break before it’s Dec 1st. Hope you get your tree up and then you can relax and enjoy it.


Leave a Reply

