jump to navigation

Getting Warmer January 10, 2008

Posted by hollyspinner in Knitting.
trackback

The search is over.  I have found them.  The most beautiful mittens.  I actually bought the pattern for the Bird in Hand mittens.  (The pattern buying process was interesting because I want to sell my patterns via pdf download as well and it gave me some insight)  They are fair isle, knit in the round.  I had forgotten how much fun fair isle knitting is.  Its like those coloring pages with the special paper that when you rub over it with the special marker you get a spiffy picture.  It is so addictive,  I will be up late going: ok just one more row, well maybe just one more row, just so I can see how it is turning out, even though I know what the pattern will be when I am finished. I am using Cascade 220 in Heathers 9425 (really, would it kill them to give it a real name), its a really dark heathery green (although it looks vaguely black in the photo) withLouet Gems worsted weight that I hand dyed with yellows and purples.  The hand dyed yarn makes it a little hard to see the pattern.  I think for the other mitten I am going to switch the colors, which will make for an interesting pair of (warm) mittens, if nothing else.

bird in hand


The picture is not fantastic.  I am using a light box, which is really cool but I need a little more adjustment to my camera (all photographic suggestions welcome) and a whole lot more light. Here is one adjustment that didn’t really work but I think looks kinda arty. 

100_3060

Comments»

1. Let the Games Begin « Hollyspinner - February 15, 2010

[…] This is supposed to be a challenge, and my challenge will be finishing!  I’ve tried these once before.   In addition to the super spiffy metal button made for the finishers of the Knitting Olympics I […]


Leave a Reply

