jump to navigation

Using My Power for Good February 6, 2008

Posted by hollyspinner in Knitting, Life.
trackback

Today is Ash Wednesday, the beginning of Lent.  For many years to me Lent was a time of promotion of fish fillet sandwiches at McDonalds, but in the past few years I have begun to take it a bit more seriously.  Traditionally people fast at specific times during lent (like not eating meat on Fridays).  I’ve always tried to amend a bad habit or adopt a healthy one during Lent.  This year I was thinking about what I want to do and two things came up at about the same time.  The first is an quote:

  • Fast from discontent.  Feast on gratitude.
  • Fast from anger. Feast on patience.
  • Fast from worry. Feast on faith.
  • Fast from complaining. Feast on appreciation.
  • Fast from bitterness. Feast on forgiveness.
  • Fast from self-centeredness. Feast on compassion for others.
  • Fast from lethargy. Feast on enthusiasm.
  • Fast from emphasis on differences. Feast on recognizing unity.
  • Fast from unsettling anxiety.  Feast on inner peace.
  • Fast from half-hartedness. Feast on commitment.

The second was this Knit Along.  Helping to knit 4000 hats in the 40 days of Lent. 

So this year for Lent I am giving up knitting for myself and I am going to knit for others. That is using my power for good.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

