jump to navigation

A Christmas Meme December 8, 2008

Posted by hollyspinner in Life.
trackback

I saw this over at Carole Knits and thought it would be fun.

1. Wrapping paper or gift bags? I almost never purchase gift bags, but if I have one that I can recycle I use it, otherwise it is wrapping paper all the way.

2. Real tree or Artificial? Artificial, it is what I grew up with and it saves oh so much money.  Not to mention no mess or watering, and the lights are already attached so it super easy up and down.  I have a pine scented candle that I burn on Christmas for the piny scent, and I do sometimes get a real wreath for the door.


3. When do you put up the tree?
The first Sunday of Advent.


4. When do you take the tree down?
The last week/weekend before school goes back


5. Do you like eggnog?
love it, can’t have this year because of the raw egg, but I can look forward to next year.


6. Favorite gift received as a child?
This is a toss up, there are two.  First is this great doll/house set.  It was a family of furry animals in a log.  The other was this beautiful handmade angel ornament that my mom got at one of the Christmas markets when we were in Germany.

7. Hardest person to buy for? My mom.  I am really glad she has gone to requesting specific items.


8. Easiest person to buy for?
The daughter.  She has a rather lengthy list and is happy with pretty much everything she gets, even the clothes.


9. Do you have a nativity scene?
Yes.


11. Worst Christmas gift you ever received?
I like them all.  I just like getting gifts.  The great anticipation, opening the wrapping, being surprised at what is inside.


12. Favorite Christmas Movie?
A Charlie Brown Christmas


13. When do you start shopping for Christmas?
Year round if I can.  I actually managed to make/buy all my gifts but 3 by the first of December this year.  Now, what to get my nephews who have everything?


14. Have you ever recycled a Christmas present?
Not into another Christmas present.  I’ve given stuff that my mom gives me that she has won in contests or whatever.


15. Favorite thing to eat at Christmas?
Lebkuchen


16. Lights on the tree?
Yup, they are already attached white lights.


17. Favorite Christmas song?
Favorite secular song: The Holly and the Ivy, Favorite religious song: O Come Emmanuel 


18. Travel at Christmas or stay home?
We stay at home in the morning and sometimes travel in the afternoon.  I have no idea what we are doing yet this year.


19. Can you name all of Santa’s reindeer?
Yes


20. Open the presents Christmas Eve or morning?
Christmas morning – when I was a kid it was really, really early in the morning.  I still get excited on Christmas morning although I do manage to sleep past 5:00


21. Most annoying thing about this time of the year?
Christmas songs on the radio starting November 1

22. Favorite ornament theme or color? My favorite Christmas colors are holly colors of red and green (go figure) I also collect holly and angel ornaments, so i guess that counts as themes.

23. What do you want for Christmas this year? Presents, nothing too particular.  I don’t usually get what I ask for (unless I as my parents), so I’ve stopped asking.


24. Angel on the tree top or a star?
Angel.  We actually have three that could work.  We rotate them


25. Favorite Christmas dinner?
One I don’t have to cook.  We usually have the traditional turkey dinner.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

