jump to navigation

Castle Waiting January 14, 2010

Posted by hollyspinner in book review.
trackback

I read a book today – the whole book- all 457 pages.  It helped that it is a graphic novel with lots of great comic (as in book) illustration. That book was created by Linda Medley , of course it was Castle Waiting.

I love a good picture book, that is a book that uses words and pictures together to tell a tale. This is no child’s story, told with complexity,  this series of interwoven short  stories teach lessons in kindness, tolerence and community.  At first blush it has all the trappings of your average fairy tale: fairies, talking animals, gypsies, princesses, witches and nuns, (well sort of).  The characters are believable and I wanted to hear each of their storeis.  I couldn’t stop turning the pages.  I am so glad that I found this book at my local library.  I see there is also a volume 2.  I hope I can pick this one up and find out what happens to the inhabitants of Castle Waiting.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

