jump to navigation

Knitting for Baby January 27, 2010

Posted by hollyspinner in book review, Knitting.
Tags: ,
trackback

I had a package arrive on my doorstep, a late birthday present from my awesome brother.  He had picked a couple of books off of my Amazon wishlist.  Here is a little birthday book review

The first book I pulled out of the box was Knitting for Baby by Melanie Falick and Kristin Nicholas

I love the layout and the aesthetic of the book.  It has simple lines and a modern feel.  There is a very informative how-to basic skills sections in the beginning with easy to follow drawings illustrating the text.  The projects are arranged in order of complexity.  All of them have great pictures, with clear instructions.  I tried to pick just one favorite and it was really hard.  I made the “beginner booties” which went well and would definitely make again.  I really love the “baby’s first ball” and “baby’s blocks” which are both basically the same idea, but one is a cube and one is a sphere.  There is a great variety of patterns.  There are some sweaters, both for baby and mommy, toys, a diaper bag, mitts and booties.  At the end of the book there is a list of yarn sources.  Overall I think this is a well done book and would advise adding it to your bookshelf.

Comments»

1. Angela - January 28, 2010

I want to see the booties you made!

Thanks for stopping by my blog the other day. 🙂


Leave a Reply

