jump to navigation

Whatever April 5, 2010

Posted by hollyspinner in Life.
add a comment

Have you ever had a shift in thinking?

I have, and it happened while reading this blog.

Whenever I have an argument and I get especially frustrated I often say “Whatever” and leave the conversation – not very grown-up, I know, a leftover impulse from my angst ridden teenaged years.  Whatever has become a negative word imbued with sarcasm and apathy.

The other day I was browsing my way through the interwebs and happened upon this absolutely delightful little blog called Whatever.  Well of course I thought this is someone’s sarcastic take on life.  Then I saw in the left hand sidebar this verse (done in all kinds of pretty colors)

Whatever is true,

Whatever is noble,

Whatever is right,

Whatever is pure,

Whatever is lovely,

Whatever is admirable,

If anything is excellent or praiseworthy, think about such things.

Phillipeans 4:8

I have been going through a rough patch of late.  I have been saying “whatever” to a lot of people.  This simple little sidebar completely changed my outlook.  So now I am going to try to find the  whatevers in those same people looking for the truth, nobility, purity, loveliness, and admiration.

Thanks to Meg for this wonderful little piece of peace and happiness on the internet.