jump to navigation

Tackling the Mantle August 3, 2010

Posted by hollyspinner in Clean and Organizing, Tackle it Tuesday.
Tags:
trackback

Tackle It Tuesday Meme

There are two problems with the mantle

1. It is a horizontal surface that tends to collect things

2. I have lots of kitsch that I enjoy displaying.

So I have come up with a solution that I hope will solve both problems and give me a more dust free mantle in the process: Seasonal decorating.  I already do this with Christmas, but if I do it with the other seasons as well then the mantle will get cleaned off at least 4 times a year.

I totally cleaned off the mantle

Then I just put back those few things that I want currently.

It looks like twice the amount of stuff due to the big mirror.  Then I took 4 boxes labeled them Spring, Summer, Winter, Spring and divided the rest of the kitsch accordingly and stored them in a closet.  Some of the other things, like my knitting needles went to a new shelf, where they are still available but off the mantle.  I did not really purge a whole lot – there were some papers that were thrown out but all in all I am happy with my solution to this super cluttered space.

Clearing out Clutter one thing at a time.

Comments»

1. Summur Braley - August 3, 2010

wow, that is a lot of work. It looks great!!! Why do all of these surfaces attract stuff? You have a very good idea, I may copy you!

2. Eos Mom - August 3, 2010

My mantle is on my project list–it’s a catch-all right now (meaning full of clutter) but I’d rather be decorating seasonally. Great job!!!

3. Anne@LittleSproutBooks - August 4, 2010

I went seasonal when I found I had too many framed photos sitting on surfaces around the house – now the photos go away until their designated season and bring our fresh smiles when they return!


Leave a Reply

